What about the UAG?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Guyloup

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does any one have any info or insight about the UAG, Mexico. Any personally related experience of the life after. How was it like to go back to the US and how does it compare to the carribean schools and others?
Also if someone were to transfer from there any advices?

Members don't see this ad.

Which program in Guadalajara are you in now?

I'm presently in the International Program of Medicine and would appreciate any personal insight anyone cares to share with me. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad :)
Why didn't you check this stuff out BEFORE you went off to Mexico for medical school?

I am a student at UAG and this is what I know to be true:

1. 100% of students that go through fifth pathway at New York Medical College are accepted into residency(provided that they pass step 2).

2. 98% of the students here that pass step 1 are accepted into the fifth pathway program. The ones that are rejected are the students that attended a U.S. medical school prior to coming to UAG.

3. If you look at New York Medical College fifth pathway web site you will find out that they accept about 100 students per year. We have had big classes in the past that have had over 100 students pass step 1. New York Medical College expanded to accommodate all of them. Many prospective students are worried that there might not be enough spots for everyone. I also used to think that. I have no doubt that if you come to UAG and pass step 1 you will be accepted into the fifth pathway program.

4. Students are able to get competitive residencies such as emergency medicine, general surgery, orthopedic surgery, radiology, etc. I attribute this to the fact we get one year at New York Medical College.