RipThemOut

10+ Year Member
May 3, 2008
Texas
Status
Dental Student
I am a 3rd year dental student who is interested in applying for 4-year OMFS residencies. What are the magic numbers that these programs are looking for?

My scores are:

National Boards Part I: 87%
Class Rank: within top 10%

Do I have a shot? If so, which schools would be best to apply to given my numbers to have a realistic chance of getting accepted?

10+ Year Member
Oct 25, 2004
Status
Academic Administration
I am a 3rd year dental student who is interested in applying for 4-year OMFS residencies. What are the magic numbers that these programs are looking for?

My scores are:

National Boards Part I: 87%
Class Rank: 8 of 91 = within top 10%

Do I have a shot? If so, which Schools would be best to apply to given my numbers to have a realistic chance of getting accepted?
I'll give you an obvious response so you get at least 1 and others will contribute also!

Everyone says board score should be 90 but there are people all the time that match with less than that.

I'd say more importantly because your boards aren't steller, do you have any good externship time under your belt? No one can say that externship time is more or less important than board scores but it's invaluable for you personally to figure out where you want to apply.

2thguy82

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 6, 2007
Status
I have a similar class rank at a respectable school, but my boards were an 86. I have no clue what to do. I decided to go ahead and apply and see what happens, but do we think with this trend of the boards all being lower that will do the trick??

I have a ton of research/grants, and have been published. I'll also have 5 externships under my belt by the time I apply, and solid letters. Do I have a shot, or am I internship bound??

curious to hear all your thoughts also, should be an interesting application year with the new boards and such....

Yahtzee

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 16, 2007
Status