what are my chanced of getting into a post bac program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chitown2011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an economic major at the university of Chicago, I'm going into my last year. I have a 3.4 gpa. I have taken hard classes. Anyway, I started taking the pre med classes here until I had a horrible death in my family and I had to withdraw from one science class. I continued with my other classes even though I was really grieving. I have above average test scores and average grades. I have some good EC's. Should I apply to a post bac program? I don't have great letters of rec, but I could work onthat. Any suggestions about where. I should apply and/or my chances id acceptance? I worked as an R.A. at the hospital for 1 year.

Members don't see this ad.

I am an economic major at the university of Chicago, I'm going into my last year. I have a 3.4 gpa. I have taken hard classes. Anyway, I started taking the pre med classes here until I had a horrible death in my family and I had to withdraw from one science class. I continued with my other classes even though I was really grieving. I have above average test scores and average grades. I have some good EC's. Should I apply to a post bac program? I don't have great letters of rec, but I could work onthat. Any suggestions about where. I should apply and/or my chances id acceptance? I worked as an R.A. at the hospital for 1 year.

I'm an Econ major from Rutgers University (C/o 2010, 3.49 over, 3.8 major), with next to nil experience in the health care setting other than my almost non-existent stint as an EMT back in high school, and am about to start my post-bacc at Harvard this Fall. I don't know which program you're aiming for, but i think Chicago has a slightly more rigorous econ program than Rutgers so I'm pretty certain you can get yourself into most half-decent post-bac programs.