lightblueelephant

2+ Year Member
Jan 1, 2015
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Hi all, just got my scores back for the MCAT today I'm disappointed as I averaged a 126-128 on chem phys. Here's my breakdown: 124/127/127/125

I have a previous bachelors degree business. I then went straight into my second bachelors at a different school in biology, I am taking my last class and will graduate in December.

My sgpa is 3.51 for DO, 3.48 for MD
my cGPA is 3.59
My post bacc gpa is a 3.68 with a massive upward trend like averaged (3.7 - 4.0 for the past 2.5 years)

ECs:
lots of shadowing
2.5 years of research, 1 poster, working on publication
100 hrs volunteer local ER
250 hours volunteer local children's hospital
some community/non medical volunteering

leadership position in school club

non-URM

*edited because too many people from my school can figure out who I am

Last edited:
Sep 19, 2017
Status
Hello, I think you have a good chance of getting accepted. You have stats very similar to mine (499MCAT, 3.6cGPA, 3.8sGPA, and a publication) and I was just accepted to WVSOM and have interviews at 4 other schools (A.T. Still (KCOM), MSUCOM, KYCOM, and PNW) over the next few weeks. Your sGPA is mildly low but falls around the average for a handful of schools. I didn't get a secondary from RVU-CO, but I'm sure you can since you have a higher MCAT. Overall, I believe you'll be a solid candidate.

About the Ads

workaholic181

2+ Year Member
May 29, 2017
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Hi all, just got my scores back for the MCAT today I'm disappointed as I averaged a 126-128 on chem phys. Here's my breakdown: 124/127/127/125

I have a previous bachelors degree in business administration and minor in psychology- graduated in 2014. I then went straight into my second bachelors at a different school in biology, I am taking my last class and will graduate in December.

My sgpa is 3.51 for DO, 3.48 for MD
my cGPA is 3.59