What are my Chances? 4.0 GPA, 33 MCAT, very research-heavy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DES1291

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time posting. I just received my MCAT scores and would really appreciate some feedback on the strength of my application overall. Here's my info (sorry if it's too detailed, wasn't sure what to include):

GPA: Graduated in 2013 with a 4.0 from well-established science/engineering school in Massachusetts (biochemistry major, biology minor, humanities sufficiency/focus in science writing)
MCAT: 33 (11 on all sections)
Physician Shadowing: 32 hours on the NICU floor of UMass Memorial Hospital
Teaching: Two full years as a TA in a variety of biology courses, including a graduate level biology course that I TA'd as an undergraduate (ran review sessions, tutored students, graded tests and papers)
Extracurricular Activities: Treasurer of Student Health Advisory Council (campus organization addressing health issues that affect college students) and Student Leader in the pre-health society at my school (advising younger students)
Public Health: Spent 3 months in Thailand developing a public health campaign to prevent lead poisoning in children, presented this work as a proposal to the Thai government
Research:
1. Undergraduate research assistant in Drosophila genetics lab (2 full academic years, 20 hours per week)
2. Summer internship at Pfizer Inc as a protein characterization scientist
3. Summer Internship at UMass Medical School as a research assistant in DNA replication studies
4. Senior thesis research project in viral protein biochemistry (1 year in the lab, 30-40 hours per week)
5. Postbac Research Assistant at Harvard Medical School in histological immunology (full time job, mainly working with KO mice, 1.5 year into a 2 year position)