What are my chances?/acceptance formula?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by becool5, Nov 29, 2005.

1. becool5

becool5 Member
    15+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Hello everyone, I will be finishing my graduate degree next year and I am thinking about applying to medical school (Osteopathic). When I was an undergrad a friend of mine told me about a general rubric one could use to estimate one's chances of acceptance. It was a formula that combined cum gpa, science gpa, MCAT, etc. I realize this is just a general guide but I was wondering if anyone heard of it.

Obviously a good MCAT score can compensate for a low GPA. I have a 3.2 cum/science gpa, tons of EC's, jobs, etc. I have A's in several science classes, but I am worried about a D I recieved in an Anthropology class. Is there a particular MCAT score you think I would need to obtain to be competitive to compensate for the low gpa? In other words should it be way above average or around average for most Osteo schools? Any advice from accepted students in simliar situations would be helpful. I have the summer off and I plan on focusing on just the MCAT. I doubt my grad degree will be helpful. I have good grades but it is a public policy degree and the classes are rather easy. Thanks for your help!

2. dr.z

Physician 10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    You should shoot for over 27 to be safe.

3. rlk13

rlk13 Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical