What are my chances? (Age 27)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Topcat

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently working the night shift as a medical technologist in a 400 bed hospital. 70% of the time, I'm the lead chemist, hematologist, microbiologist, and bloodbanker. I graduated with a 3.25 GPA and 9 and 10s on the MCAT. I have four years of volunteer experience as physical therapy asst. Worked two years at a dialysis tech. And spent 4 four years in the U.S. Navy working as an aircraft mechanic. I have traveled the world over. Spent 8 months in the Persian Gulf during the Gulf War.
I'm married to a 5th grade teacher with our first child on the way.
Do you think with my low GPA, that I should spend the time and money pursuing med school? Or should I stick with my blood gases,UAs, sputum gram stains.
Please let me know!!!!
Thanks!!
Jeff E.

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by Topcat:
Jeff-
My situation was similar to yours but my GPA wasn't as high. I was accepted with a 3.04, 28 MCAT. I had strong post baccalaureate work and I think that was in my favor. My advice to you would be to sort out your motives and goals relevant to the profession and life in general (make sure they are compatible). Like you, I have children and I wouldn't be going if I didn't have the COMPLETE support of my husband. I wish you the best of luck- don't worry, your situation is by no means hopeless!

Of course you have a chance!
smile.gif