What are my chances? And advise on choosing major

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JJ96

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am a college sophomore with a current overall GPA of 3.75, a science GPA of 3.62, and a non-science GPA of 3.85. (if sociology is not considered a science subject)
As you can see, I am actually much better in the humanities subjects than the science subjects, and my biggest interest lies in the humanities subjects such as literature. I am currently a science major, because even though science might not be my biggest strength, I do enjoy it more than a lot of other subjects such as pure math or engineering... And the way my school does this major is unique for it gives us an internship in the last semester of senior year...
That being said, right now I cannot make up my mind in whether I should change my major to a humanity (my biggest strength and interest) or stay as a science major. The reason for why I am rethinking my major now is because I did bad in Orgo 1 this past semester, for I got a B in the end, which was the lowest grade I got after I came to college. I heard many people saying that I should major in something I am passionate about and best at, for that will help with my GPA, and I do know several cases of people who have majored in non-science subjects such as economics or spanish, and they both ended up going to Harvard medical school. I have also heard that humanities majors might even have an advantage, for 50% of medical school acceptees majored in the sciences, and 50% majored in humanities, and since much fewer applicants majored in the humanities, they actually have a higher chance. I was wondering if this is true or not?