What are my chances? Any advice/input would be greatly appreciated!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which schools?

• MD

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • DO

Votes: 1 25.0%
  • Caribbean

Votes: 3 75.0%
  • International

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters

OneDayDoctor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDNers,

This is my first time posting on this site, but I have read a lot on here and there is a ton of great information. So I'd like to throw my hat in the ring, and let me know what you guys think. I'm looking at applying to MD schools in a couple years. I am going into my junior year, and here's where I stand:

The Vitals:
-Cumulative GPA: 3.95
-Science GPA: 4.0
-Major: Physiology (+Neuroscience Certificate)

The ECs:
-1 year biology research, about to join a new lab for the remaining 2 years (which will involve clinical experience)
-Volunteering at local ER 1-2 times weekly, currently at about 100 hours
-Assorted non-medical volunteering, currently at about 60 hours
-Honors program/Dean's list/National Society of Collegiate Scholars
-Have worked two jobs in college, one freshman year and one this past summer
-Intramural volleyball (captain) and water polo
-Helped teach 4 classes (3 astronomy, 1 biology)
-1 year of band

Also Note:
-I still haven't taken Organic Chemistry, but I'm pretty nervous about it (I'm taking from the hardest prof on campus).
-I plan to start shadowing this year.
-I'm probably going to get my master's before applying.

Advice Needed:
-What areas seem lacking, and what activities should I add to boost my chances?
-What are some suggested schools?
-What are my chances at an MD/PhD?
-Any feedback in general

Don't feel like you have to answer all these questions, but every bit of input would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.