1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

MD What are my chances for 2016? Rewrite MCAT? Y/N

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by MSclerosis, Aug 17, 2015.

1. MSclerosis

Pre-Medical
    Hello,

I am an international student who studied in Canada, and I am applying to US schools that accept international students.

MCAT: 32 (12 PS, 10 VR, 10 BS)
    GPA: 3.9
    ECs: Fairly limited, was too busy working 2 jobs while in school... lots of teaching
    Research: Couple thousand hours, 2 peer-reviewed publications as co-author
    Shadowing: 300 hours across multiple specialties (primary care mostly)
    Volunteering: 300 hours at local hospital in acute medicine/emerg
    LoRs: research supervisor who taught me previously (mostly positive), primary care physician who I shadowed (positive), and hospital nurse from volunteering experiences (positive).

Verification/LORs will be complete by Sept 1. Late, I know, but I have been working on secondaries in the meantime.

Applying to Canada as well (and Ireland).

Q: How could I improve my chances during gap year? Should I rewrite the MCAT?

Thanks.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. GrapesofRath

2+ Year Member

Non-Student
    Taking the MCAT again will do absoultely nothing for you this cycle.

MSclerosis and Saxappeal1 like this.
  4. Doug Underhill

5+ Year Member

Medical Student (Accepted)
    Retaking a 32 can be kind of dicey: going up to 33 or 34 isn't really that much better, but going down will hurt you a lot.

MSclerosis likes this.
  5. GrapesofRath

2+ Year Member

Non-Student