What are my chances for allopathic or osteopathic medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AmandaDelise

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN community!

I'm applying this year for medical school and I would like your insight if whether or not I have a decent chance of getting in :)

Major: Biology
GPA: 3.98
sGPA: 3.98
MCAT: 505 :( I know this isn't the best!
Shadowing:
-General and Vascular surgery: 100
-Anesthesia:80 hours

Volunteering:
- Soccer coach for the youth 150 hours
-soccer coach for those with disabilities 150 hours
-Veteran's hosptial volunteer 300
- Peer mentor tutoring for freshmen in biology at my school, 2 semesters; 72 hours

Research:
-2 semesters of research- 1 poster at school symposium; 1st author; 150
Extra-curricular activities/hobbies:
-I was a student athlete for my school; I was on the soccer team
Experiences with leadership
-I was a resident assistant at my school
-I work for this soccer league as a field marshall (I make sure the league/games run smoothly)

I'm planning on going to Haiti after March on a mission trip (super excited!!!)
I graduated in 3 years so I feel like I rushed a lot of things, and that I don't have a lot of clinical experience or a lot of community service that involves medicine!

Besides my MCAT, what are things I can improve on?
Note: I"m not trying to go top tier schools, I'm simply trying to get accepted :)
Excited to hear your opinions!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
SDN Success Rate Charts - 2017 Edition
Suggests you have about a 60% chance (505 translates to a 28/29 on the old scale).

If you wanted to go to a top ranked school you could ease off the pedal for a year, study for the MCAT, have a little non-school experience, and be on your way.

SDN Success Rate Charts - 2017 Edition
Suggests you have about a 60% chance (505 translates to a 28/29 on the old scale).