Dental What are my chances for dental school?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I took my DAT and my scores were :

PAT 20 QR 15 RC 15 Bio 19 GC 22 OC 18 TS 19 AA 18

I have a foreign bachelor degree in engineering with 2.4 GPA. Except the biochemistry, I took the prerequisite classes at community college . Now, I have 3.9GPA for the prerequisite classes. Do you think I have chance or I should retake the exam.
I feel anxious when I think I have to redo the test. Thanks
I am not very familiar with DAT scores, but upon looking up some info on them, it SEEMS that your scores are good except for your QR/RC which are low.

I think your bigger issue will be your GPA. I know you got. 3.9 in your prereqs, but what is your overall GPA now?

Members don't see this ad.

OMG Its about 3.0 or less. I haven't thought this way.I thought since my Bachelor's degree is from overseas country. They will only focus on the prerequisite classes. Its mean that I need to take more classes to balance it.
Let's step back a bit and take a more holistic view.

1) Assuming you are applying to US schools, have you read up on the application process and met with admissions officers? I say this because most schools want you to be on track for a US bachelor's degree. Furthermore, your non-US coursework needs to have an equivalency transcript and will not factor in the application GPA.

2) how many hours of experience do you have in dentistry in the US? Community service hours?

1- Yes I checked the requirement and there are a good number of dental schools who doesn't require a bachelor's degree from US institute. The per-health advisor guided me through this process . I already evaluate my degree with the WES (an authorized office who evaluate the foreign degrees) and they gave me 2.4 GPA.