redrose13

2+ Year Member
Aug 21, 2016
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
I'm a recent graduate and I'm currently in the application stage. I'm now worrying about my chances of getting admitted now that the process is coming to an end especially since i applied to alot of schools :(

my top choices are Columbia, NYU, SUNY Downstate, TouroCOM-Harlem, basically any school in NY.

Stats:
3.86 cGPA
3.90 sGPA,
503 MCAT

ECs:
med/surge PCT
nursing unit volunteer, 2 wks in Ecuador aiding in a reforestation project, community service clubs
shadowed a DO
phi beta kappa and other honor societies
2 years of research experience
public health internships: 2 years of global health and a summer at the CDC

Any help/advice/opinions is appreciated!!

Attachments

gyngyn

Staff member
Administrator
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Nov 4, 2011
Status
Attending Physician
You are a good DO candidate.
You have a very modest application for MD.
I cannot recommend an application to NYU or Columbia, both have 10th percentiles of 32.
Have you purchased the MSAR?
NY Med has a 10th percentile of 27 and Upstate is a 28.
Downstate has a 30 as a 10th percentile, so that is a reach...
I see two schools on your MD list where you have a fair chance of an interview.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: redrose13
OP
R

redrose13

2+ Year Member
Aug 21, 2016
Status
Thank you so much for your advice! I applied to NYU and Columbia as reach schools and i agree too that i have a slim chance of an interview. Just wondering what two schools were the ones you thought i had a fair chance of getting an interview?

OP
R

redrose13

2+ Year Member
Aug 21, 2016
Status
You are a good DO candidate.
You have a very modest application for MD.
I cannot recommend an application to NYU or Columbia, both have 10th percentiles of 32.
Have you purchased the MSAR?
NY Med has a 10th percentile of 27 and Upstate is a 28.
Downstate has a 30 as a 10th percentile, so that is a reach...