1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

What are my chances for Osteopathic school?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by NJHopeful, Aug 27, 1999.

1. NJHopeful

NJHopeful Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi!

I am 31 years old. I graduated in 1990 from the University of Vermont with a BA in Environmental Studies, minor in Philosophy. After graduation I worked for 3 years as a lobbyist in NY State on environmental and public health issues. I worked with the AMA and other health groups to pass the NY State Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention law.

My husband and I moved back to my hometown in NJ in 1995. I then worked for a high-technology medical imaging equipment company for two years, where I interacted with Drs and other health professionals giving presentations at professional meetings and conferences both in the US and overseas.

I would like to fulfill my dream of becoming a Dr. I would need a post-bac program. My GPA from college is only 3.2 overall (3.6 in my major). Will this hurt my chances significantly even if I do well in a post-bac and on the MCAT?

Also, I have a strong volunteer background in teaching English to disadvantaged immigrants with Literacy Volunteers of America. I am currently an email volunteer with Sidelines, an organization that supports women on
    bedrest due to high-risk pregnancies. I myself had a high-risk pregnancy and
    last November gave birth to identical twin girls. (My OB-GYN is a DO - she is fantastic!) I am especially interested in
    pediatrics and the special medical and emotional needs of multiples.