What are my chances....honestly!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wolfvgang

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so this is another "here's my personal situation that I find perplexing" post. I have a Bachelors degree in Psychology, but because of almost flunking out of college my freshman year, I was only able to bring my cumulative GPA up to a 2.9. However, I did make gradual improvement as an undergraduate. After graduating, I worked for a mental health clinic as a counselor and worked closely with some psychiatrists and GPs full time for a year. There I caught the "gotta be a doctor bug." Now I am back in college picking up all the pre-requisite science courses, and have a GPA of 3.76 in these courses. I Know I will ace the MCAT (I've always done very well on standardized tests). So, with that background in mind, here's my questions: 1. Should I pursue a Master degree or just another bachelors in science, and 2. What do you think my chances are if I score at least a 32 on the MCAT? Thanks in advance for any comments or advice! :0)

Members don't see this ad.

Have you applied to medical school yet? Honestly, it might take at least one round of rejections to prove your interest in medical school. I cite my own experience as evidence. I too had only about a 3.0 undergrad GPA. Six years after graduating. from college though, I have improved my application enough to have been granted a few acceptances. I don't say this for self-gratification. I only want you to know that given the proper resolve, a 3.0 in not fatal.
That being said, I think med schools blow a lot of sunshine up applicants' a@% about seeking more than just good grades. Saddam Hussein with a 3.9 will get lots of interviews and equal acceptances. Mother Theresa with a 3.0, would barely get the time of day! I know this is a silly and extreme example, but I think you know where I'm coming from.