Dental What are my chances in this cycle for dental school?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a terribly low gpa for my last semester of undergrad. 3.1-3.2 o 2.9-3.0 s. My stats and EC are below..
-Operating Room volunteer
- Volunteered at my universities Dental School
- I work as a dental assistant
-I've done some research (unpublished)
- 100 hours shadowing a General dentist
- Certified Pharmacy Technician
- Certified Phlebotomist
- I've been a ta for several math courses including Calculus 1
- I graduated from a harder stem school
-ill be finishing this semester with almost all A's (indicates improvement)

Im giving myself 6 months to study for the DAT and hoping for a 22+. Im also looking into getting my MS in Physiology and biophysics or a post bacc. Any help or advice would be appreciate.

What was your major and type of University? What manual dexterity activity have you been developing? How about dental shadowing (100 hours doing what)?

Your GPA looks like it needs a SMP to boost your chances. How about your DAT scores?

Sent from my SM-N960U using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

Looks like OP hasn't taken their DAT yet. Honestly, with your sGPA and oGPA so low, I'd look into an SMP to help show schools that you can handle a rigorous curriculum. Be careful of studying so long for the DAT, you may burnout and/or start to forget things you learned in the beginning of your preparation. Outside of academics, you'll need a strong PS and strong LORs to help better your chances.

I would maybe repost once you have DAT scores in hand, and after joining an SMP. A formal postbacc could help, but it depends on how many units you've already taken, so an SMP may be better.