What are my chances? Low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spades455

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from college last May with a double major (5 years). My GPA is 3.09 and science GPA is 2.89. I had a very rough time adjusting to the difficulty my first couple of years and the last years of my university were better but not straight As.

Research experience: 1.5 yrs

Right now my plan is to study the MCAT and take it in April/May and then apply in the fall. In the meantime I would also do some clinical volunteer activity. My question is would I be able to get in anywhere with my GPA as it is? Since I've already done a lot of units in school I really don't want to take more classes since I don't think it would help my GPA much. What should I do??

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I graduated from UC Berkeley last May with a double major in Chemical Biology and Molecular and Cell Biology (5 years). My GPA is 3.09 and science GPA is 2.89. I had a very rough time adjusting to the difficulty my first couple of years and the last years of my university were better but not straight As.

Research experience: 1.5 yrs studying biofuels at energy institute on campus

ECs: I was active in my professional fraternity and held several officer positions including president. Over the summer after my sophomore year I interned at a cancer research center.

Right now my plan is to study the MCAT and take it in April/May and then apply in the fall. In the meantime I would also do some clinical volunteer activity. My question is would I be able to get in anywhere with my GPA as it is? Since I've already done a lot of units in school I really don't want to take more classes since I don't think it would help my GPA much. What should I do??
What grades did you get in the prerequisites?
What upper-level Bio did you take and what grades were earned?