Aquarius9017

2+ Year Member
Jul 21, 2017
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
I am planning to apply to DO schools this cycle but i want to be realistic as to what my chances are of actually getting accepted into medical school.

Th following are my stats:

MCAT score 496
URM (Mexican American)
sGPA 3.89
overall non-science 3.47
overall undergraduate GPA 3.69 (I'm not sure if non-science or overall undergraduate is looked at)
Completed my undergraduate studies in NC, currently reside in CA.
I participated in research, both at my institution and at an REU experience at another university. I presented my findings at two national conferences.
I was a scribe for more than a year (>2000 hours), volunteered at a blood bank (>200 hours), shadowed several primary care doctors each for at least 100 hours, tutored at my uni and elementary/middle school students after I graduated from college. I currently work as a clinical research analyst for a pharmaceutical company.

Jul 13, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
How many times have you tackled the MCAT? Take it again! Score over 505 and you're more than golden! You could apply to some schools accepting low MCAT', but I would start studying now for a retake

OP
Aquarius9017

Aquarius9017

2+ Year Member
Jul 21, 2017
Status
How many times have you tackled the MCAT? Take it again! Score over 505 and you're more than golden! You could apply to some schools accepting low MCAT', but I would start studying now for a retake
I have taken it only once.

About the Ads

workaholic181

2+ Year Member
May 29, 2017
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
I am planning to apply to DO schools this cycle but i want to be realistic as to what my chances are of actually getting accepted into medical school.

Th following are my stats:

MCAT score 496
URM (Mexican American)
sGPA 3.89
overall non-science 3.47
overall undergraduate GPA 3.69 (I'm not sure if non-science or overall undergraduate is looked at)