MD What are my chances of getting accepted? What should be my next steps?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kay_20

Reaction score
Hello. I am a 23 year old pre-med student looking to be accepted into a US-MD program as soon as possible. I want to apply next year. I know that nobody cares about your age in med school, but personally I don't want to take longer than I have to and I'm a woman (I would like to marry and have my own family). I am working right now to improve myself as a candidate and willing to do anything that makes me more competitive.

I graduated with a B.S. in 2020 with a cumulative 2.8 GPA. I completed my freshman year at a community college and transferred to the university my sophomore year. I did well in community college but university was kind of a struggle. I do not like to dwell on it because its in the past and I will keep hating myself for it. After graduating, I enrolled in a CUNY school and took 5 additional courses. I plan on taking more because I have a strong feeling my GPA is inferior. I am currently studying for my MCAT and aiming for at least a 515. Listed below are my current GPA's for medical school. I calculated them using the Medschoolhq calculators:

- AMCAS sGPA included ALL Biology, Chemistry, Math and Physics courses.
- AACOMAS sGPA included ALL Biology, Chemistry, and Physics courses
Cumulative GPA3.096
AMCAS sGPA3.018
AACOMAS sGPA3.037
Postbacc sGPA3.273

1. I have no research experience. I am currently trying to find a virtual research position in a 1 year clinical study, but I have not been able to find anything. If there are any opportunities for this please list them below. It will be highly appreciated.