What are my chances of getting into medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Triathlete

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am wondering what my chances are when it comes to getting accepted into med school. I am at a huge disadvantage. My GPA hovers around 2.8 to 3.0. I was irresponsible and not very serious back then. This is my first year back in college, and I am 25 right now. My GPA may be low and I may be a bit older than the average applicant, but I feel I have a bit to contribute later on, because I have clinical experience. I've been an RN for almost two years now, and I have a bit of critical care under my background. Right now I am a Biology major taking Chem and Calc. I have a long ways to go, which in a way, is good, because I have many chances to improve my GPA. I go to school during the week and I spend at least 6 hours a day, five days a week studying. I work the night shift Friday and Saturday at a local hospital, med surg. I am hard working, persistent, and consistent! I also hope to compete in Vineman (Ironman competition) next year. Please, I am not interested in anything less than Medical School.

Thanks,
Mick

Members don't see this ad.

Do like the Marines do.. You can do anything you put your mind to..
Also go check out MDAPPLICANTS.COM youll be surprised too see some of the GPA's and MCATS that were accepted into MD schools. There are MANY acceptees with GPA's LESS than 3.0. Sounds like you have plenty of time to raise your GPA. Your fine.. GL MAN

Hmm... this is usually a bad question to ask on these forums because people aren't going to give you confidence if that's what you're looking for. Also, it's tough to give you any advice with that little information.