What are my chances? Should I retake DAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

J_believer

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a non-traditional pre-dental student applying for this cycle. English is my second language and I got 16 on RC. I'm terrified because of my RC score..

These are my stats
DAT AA21 TS20 PAT21 QR27 RC16:arghh: Bio19 GC21 OC20
bachelor's in chemistry GPA 2.96
master's in chemistry GPA 3.76
post-bacc GPA 4.00
dental shadowing 190+
volunteer 300+
three journal papers published as first author and second author
one patent
4+ conference presentations including oral presentation

I applied to UNLV, Western U, and Midwestern-IL. (I'm a Nevada resident)
I feel like I'm wasting my money if I apply to too many schools since I scored so low in RC. I took my DAT on July 18th (first attempt) and thinking if I should retake it around October 18th. Should I retake it? I'm not sure if I can get any chance of getting an interview if I apply to more schools after October 18th...

Any advice would help. Thank you so much and good luck to all of you!

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, I suggest a retake. It wouldn’t be a waste of time to apply to more schools this cycle, however you’d have to tell them you’re doing a retake to improve your scores, so they know not to autoreject you because of your RC (for the schools that have score cutoffs). Keep in mind, you don’t have to be the best reader to score well in this section, just need to develop a strategy that works for you. Here are some threads that will help you to see strategies for this section, look through the entire threads:

Reactions: 1 user