What are my chances? What can I do to improve my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted261621

My MCAT score is a 31S (PS:12,VR:10, BS:9). Overall undergraduate GPA is a dismal 2.83 but the GPA for the last 60 credit hours is 3.37 (not great either) but I worked full time throughout undergrad and had some major extenuating family circumstances. Undergrad degree is in Mol Bio. I have a masters in Neuroscience with a 4.0 GPA. I have over 2 years of research experience (both lab work and clinical). I have plenty of volunteering and work experience with direct patient contact. I also have considerable leadership experience. All in all, I am good on all fronts except my GPA.

I applied in all TX schools but my application was late because I studied all summer for the MCAT and took it in August (did not have time in spring. I just wanted to focus on masters instead of doing ten different things at once and messing up everything). Anyway, so the application is late. I will be applying early next year.

But I cannot decide if I should take more undergrad classes or not. It will take me 32 undergrad credit hours of nothing less than A's to bring up my GPA to a 3.0 :( (considering several but not all schools have a 3.0 cutoff). I'm not sure if taking more undergrad classes is worth the time or the energy as I developed much better critical thinking skills and endurance in graduate school. As such, from my point of view, the extra one year of my life and thousands of dollars I'll have to spend getting those 32 credit hrs of A's are basically to appease the admissions committees :wtf:. I think the system sucks :mad:, but I have to live with it until I'm in a position to change it.

So what should I do? :confused:Take dead-end undergrad classes ... or just take a break .. work for sometime, save up money and apply early next year? Or head to the Caribbean schools? :rolleyes: