What are my chances

Discussion in 'Radiation Oncology' started by ninini, 09.28.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. ninini

ninini 5+ Year Member

I am a third year medical student at a top 10 medical school. My step 1 score is 235, which I am worried about (10 points lower than my avg practice test scores :(:( ) . I am planning to take a year off to do research. What are my chances of matching? Is there anything additional I should be thinking about?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. laserbeams

laserbeams 2+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Your Step 1 won't preclude you from a successful match. You will, however, have to do other things such as completing research (with publications), get strong letters of recommendation, perform well on away rotations, get good clinical grades, and interview well. Of course, all of these things also apply to applicants with Step 1 scores that are above average as well. The term "the whole package" comes to mind.

Taking a year off can help you with the LoRs and research, but isn't required by any means. Just be sure you want to spend a year out of med school doing research so that you're going about it in an enthusiastic and productive manner.

Good luck!

4. kristofer

kristofer 7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]