Oct 8, 2014
Status
Pre-Medical
First post! Its almost Oct 15th and I am pretty worried about decisions.

I am a CA resident. I have a 3.7 GPA and 33 on MCAT (11, 10, 12). URM and strong ECs. I also have a compelling story that I wrote about in my personal statement. However I haven't done as much research as I want to have done (only a little more than a year but no publications or awards). I applied to 27 school and I have gone on 7 out of my 9 interviews and I am super broke and I am not confident enough to be selective about my interviews. Any advice?

Thanks! Good luck to everyone applying :)

Dec 16, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Seems like your chances are great.

Catalystik

The Gimlet Eye
10+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2006
The Other Side of the Portal
First post! Its almost Oct 15th and I am pretty worried about decisions.

I am a CA resident. I have a 3.7 GPA and 33 on MCAT (11, 10, 12). URM and strong ECs. I also have a compelling story that I wrote about in my personal statement. However I haven't done as much research as I want to have done (only a little more than a year but no publications or awards). I applied to 27 school and I have gone on 7 out of my 9 interviews and I am super broke and I am not confident enough to be selective about my interviews. Any advice?
What you've shared make your odds sound promising, but other factors are in play as well:

Are your LORs supportive, personal, and in the categories each school requested (if not a committee letter)? Do you have any legal issues or institutional action? Did you do practice interviews and get good reviews? Did you access SDN's Interview Feedback for individual schools and prepare for likely questions? Did you apply to schools with a range of selectivity, so they aren't all reachy?

OP
H
Oct 8, 2014
Status
Pre-Medical
What you've shared make your odds sound promising, but other factors are in play as well: