What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Serie

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I am currently a student a the University of Illinois at Champaign Urbana. I am almost done with my pre req's and have about 10 credit hrs to go. My pre pharmacy Gpa right now is at a 3.6 right now. What I am worried about is the grades I received in Organic chemistry is going to weigh me down on the decision. But I heard that our chemistry department is ranked top ten within our country. So I do not know if I will be weighted fairly with other applicants on this. Thanks for your guys input.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello

I am currently a student a the University of Illinois at Champaign Urbana. I am almost done with my pre req's and have about 10 credit hrs to go. My pre pharmacy Gpa right now is at a 3.6 right now. What I am worried about is the grades I received in Organic chemistry is going to weigh me down on the decision. But I heard that our chemistry department is ranked top ten within our country. So I do not know if I will be weighted fairly with other applicants on this. Thanks for your guys input.

What kind of grades do you have in OChem I and II? If it's a C or lower in both, you should retake it, assuming that you are applying to Illinois schools.

Hello

3.6 is a good gpa...i would too much about your organic chemistry grade as long you have passed the class..i think you will be ok...

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello

There is a lot more to an application than GPA. GPA is an important part of the overall application and your GPA is very good by the way:) but no one on here can really give you anything more than a speculative opinion without knowing more about your overall application: volunteering, experience, leadership roles, PCAT, extra curriculars, Degree(s), LORs,essay writing abilities and interviewing skills.