Aug 2, 2009
Status
Hey everyone, I'm a first time applicant taking a year off currently after graduating from Hopkins. I'm a Pennsylvania resident.

My cumulative GPA was a 3.28 and my math/science a 3.34
My GPA was at its highest in sophomore year and then had a downward trend with my worst semester being my last.
My MCAT was a 36T (11PS, 11VR, 14BS)

I'm an EMT-B and have been doing emergency response stuff for almost 3 years, I'm also a red cross certified emergency first response instructor, I have about 2 years of clinical research experience, and I'm spending this year as a hospice volunteer for Penn Hospice

I applied to around 23 schools

Albert Einstein
BostonU
Brown
Cornell
Drexel
GWU
Jefferson
Mt. Sinai
New York Medical
NYU
Penn State
Temple
UArizona
UChicago
UMaryland
UMinnesota
UNC
UPenn
UPittsburgh
USouthernCalifornia
UVA
UWisconsin
Wake Forest

What are my chances? Thanks for the help in advance.

Gryhu

Dom
10+ Year Member
Mar 10, 2008
Status
Medical Student
Nice MCAT! I think your GPA is a little low for MD. Maybe you should also throw in some DO. Or you could do a post-bacc or SMP since you have a downward trend. Adcom might think you're not mature enough to be in medical school yet.

MilkmanAl

Al the Ass Mod
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Mar 23, 2008
Kansas City, MO
www.facebook.com
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I think your list is fairly poor, honestly. It's far too top-heavy for your GPA. I'd eliminate just about everything except the following schools:

BostonU
Drexel
GWU
Jefferson
New York Medical
Penn State
Temple
UMaryland
UVA
UWisconsin
Wake Forest