Sep 15, 2017
Florida, USA
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi all!

I'm currently a pre-medical student with 3 years to go before I start applying to grad schools. So far, my academic experience has been incredibly rewarding and all around worth it, but it has also provided me with quite the emotional roller coaster (which from what I have heard, only gets worse...please tell me if I'm wrong!). I'm a double major in Biology and Legal Studies, as I will be pursuing the MD/JD dual degree program once I am finished with undergrad (which also explains why I have three years left to finish, instead of two).

Throughout my academic career, I've performed very well (4.0 GPA, great test scores, etc.), but it's all beginning to take a toll on me personally. At the moment, I'm studying for several foreign language proficiency tests, my college exams/finals, and soon to be starting prep for other unrelated licensing exams needed for my upcoming job.

Lately however, I've been feeling extremely overwhelmed by everything and am struggling with how to cope properly, in a way that will help retain my sanity in the long-term. Luckily, I don't start work again until mid-November, but when that time comes, I will also begin completing my volunteer hours and picking up a second job to cover tuition fees and some living expenses, essentially a 60-hour work week on top of full-time schooling. I've felt this way before and managed to power through, but I'm hoping to find easier ways to do so this time around.

So my questions for all of you is what helps you stay motivated during times like this? Are there any special tricks that have consistently worked for you personally? For those of you that are also working FT and going to school FT, how well do you typically manage? And finally, does this ever get better?

I've been reading this site for the past two years now and finally got around to joining, so I am quite excited to see the responses :) Thank you!

AttemptingScholar

2+ Year Member