What are the best majors for acceptance into medical school?

Mar 12, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I am a freshman in college as of right now. I am currently a philosophy major. Is this a good major for acceptance into medical school? I know science majors are the typical ones, i was just wondering what other majors are also good.

Thanks!

Ibn Rushd

10+ Year Member
Aug 3, 2007
Los Angeles
Status
Medical Student
Philosophy is a great major! It'll definitely help you stand out. The majority of applicants are biology majors, and a large part of the application process is about being unique. It's hard to be unique when tens of thousands of other applicants share your major.

You can major in whatever you like as long as you also take the medical school prerequisites (a year of biology, chemistry, organic chemistry, physics, and math) and take the MCAT.

Last edited:

7starmantis

10+ Year Member
Jul 10, 2008
Three Sheets to the Wind
Yeah but I think the majority (bio majors) is shrinking. Many, many people have many, many different majors in med school. Its better to chose one you love and will do well with, than trying to pick what you think looks good to adcoms. This goes for your major, EC's, LOR's, etc.

Geekchick921

Achievement Unlocked: MD
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Nov 6, 2007
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Whatever major you will enjoy the most and get excellent grades in. As long as you take Bio 1&2, Chem 1&2, O-Chem 1&2 and Physics 1&2, it matters not.

Morsetlis

I wish I were a dentist
7+ Year Member
Jan 22, 2010
The "Garden" State
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Anything that doesn't end with 'ology' or 'istry'.

Examples: Econ, Astrophysics, Cognitive Science, Business, Finance, Accounting, Studies, Humanities.

organdonor

7+ Year Member
Jul 29, 2009
Midwest
Status
Resident [Any Field]