What are the pros and cons of becoming a pharmacist preceptor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

swatchgirl

Exercise your brains out, so you don't get sick.
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I work in retail. My RXM says I *have" to become a preceptor soon. Are there any advantages and disadvantages to that? What if I prefer not to become one? Can they punish you for that?

Members don't see this ad.

It doesn't sound like your manager is giving you much choice.

PRO: Keep your job, receive "satisfactory" yearly review, have extra tech help if you happen to get a student who has work experience.

CON: You will be followed around by the sort of students accepted into pharmacy school these days

Reactions: 2 users
If you want to keep your job. Hopefully you work around a pharmacy school with some decent credentials or you're going to have to deal with some students just slightly more useful than concrete.

Members don't see this ad :)
Much have I learned from my teachers.
and more from any colleagues than from my teachers,
and from my students I have learned the most.
Talmud:
Ta'anit 7a -1

pro's - $$ - either direct from the school, or $$ towards CE/conferences etc
They keep me on my toes, and I learn a little bit

con's -extra work, being followed around, they slow you down, etc.

Reactions: 1 user
Pros - Free labor
Cons - they'll probably have no work experience and interrupt you with dumb questions every minute. May negate the free labor.