1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

What are your thoughts?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by blakemd, Apr 6, 2007.

1. blakemd

blakemd 3/4 med student
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I have prior experience in the medical field, and I've been thinking seriously about attending a PA program. I'd like to be a PA prior to before becoming a doctor, I know there are several programs out there with very few pre-req's. Just so you have an idea, I'm a traditional student, very young still. Most people say I should just go for the MD, but there are many variables to consider of course.

What if my grades are not good enough for an Allopathic program and I complete a masters in PA studies. How will med schools view this on my application?

Thanks in advance for your input!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. karakhanyan

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    If your ultimate goal is indeed to go for MD, then why are you going to add another 3 years (I don't really know how long PAs have to study for) to such an already long road towards medicine?

Yes, a PA applying to med school will surely be a much more competitive applicant, but the only things I would do in your case are: retake the classes I did not do so good in, exponentially increase my ECs ( and having a chance of meeting good people to recommend you in the process), and really becoming more mature as an MD applicant other than going through the long route of a PA program.

Just my 2 cents here... Good luck in whatever choice you make!:D

4. vixen26

2+ Year Member