What can I do to up my valubility?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gesykuh

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Just a little bio about myself to get started-- I'm a junior currently attending WCU in the Chemistry-Biology major. I started here accepted into the pre-med program as a transfer this year, but now that time to apply to professional school is nearing, I have decided that my parents' dream of me going to medical school isn't one with which I am particularly comfortable. A few of my friends gearing up to apply to dental school this upcoming summer suggested pharmacy and it is the first career option that I have given thought to that I can actually see myself doing. However, I feel like even though I am not behind like everyone says, I have no volunteering/work experience in the pharmacy field, and I know that the first part of getting interviewed for any professional school in the health care field involves proving to the interviewer that you know what the field entails, and that you are equipped to handle the pressure. Because I would have to take the pcats sometime this summer and start to apply to pharmacy school less than a year from now I was wondering if all of the pharmacy enthusiasts could suggest some paths of action that would make my getting into pharmacy school a bit easier. I transferred into WCU with a 3.97 from community college-- all A's in my science classes and I expect A's and B's my first semester at an accredited 4-year university. My concern is that because I really only have about a year to get myself prepped and ready that the school I am applying to will see that even though I tried to figure out what the pharmacy industry is all about, my work and research was fairly short term. Suggestions please? Also, I know that the major obtained from a 4-yr university does not have to be science related as long as you have all of the necessary pre-reqs for pha