Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

What can I do with a Health Science degree?

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by add23, Dec 2, 2005.

1. add23

add23 New Member

Pre-Medical
    Hi everyone, I hope I can get some help here. Bear with me, it's kinda long. I graduated last year with a BS in Health Science, with a concentration in Pre-Professional studies, and have no idea how I can use it unless I go to med school. I had started college as a Pre-Pharmacy major, but I decided to switch to Health Science after a year and a half because my advisor told me it would offer me more job options (the 2 year Pre-Pharm. curriculum was almost done, and I wasn't sure I was ready to head off to Pharmacy school).

What I'm interested in is either something with technology (like radiologist) or physical therapy, or maybe back to pharmacy. The Health Science curriculum was basically just all hard (but sometimes interesting) science courses and a TON of dull health-related courses that quickly started becoming very repetitive. I did tons of papers, projects, research, powerpoints, etc. but got no clinical experience. There was only one course even offered at my school that taught clinical skills (outside of the nursing program), but I was never able to fit it in. Plus it wasn't listed as a requirement so I didn't think I had to take it. But when I went to do my internship (required to get the degree) my advisor had a hard time finding something for me because I hadn't taken that one little course. I ended up having to waste three months doing office work at the Red Cross, not horrible but definitely non-clinical type of healthcare work and not what I want to do.