What can I do with a masters degree in Clinical Psychology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunny10

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello every body,

I am new to the country and the US educational system. I have obtained a masters degree in clinical psychology in Europe. I'm really confused about what my options are right now. Calling around directs me towards applying for a license as a professional counselor or try to obtain a PHD or PSYD. Is this correct, are these the best options to require a license at some point. Are there jobs that I can apply for with 'just' a masters degree?

It seems like are the job requirements are very specific: licensed social worker, licensed addiction counselor, licensed marriage and family therapist, etc.

Can anybody help me out? Thank you ;-)

Members don't see this ad.

Your options may vary depending upon what state you live in. I know that Master's in clinical and like 3000 hours of supervision in my state you can become an LPC. However as I understand there is a big push to eliminate people with pyschology degrees from persuing counseling positions. As I understand in the future you will need to have a counseling degree as oppose to a psychology degree to pratice therapy.
You might try applying for teaching positions at junior or community colleges. Theses schools typically only require a Master's degree. I'm sorry I'm not much help but I do wish you luck.

For many it is a stepping stone to a doctoral program. It seems that some states have a licensure available (with enough applied hours), though YMMV on what you would need and if it is an option for your career path. Of the people I know that got a MA/MS in Clinical (or something like Experimental) Psychology, they all went onto a doctoral program.

Members don't see this ad :)