What can I get out of my medical degree if I decide not to drop out?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kellogscoffey

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! This is my first time posting so feel free to move this if Ive chosen the wrong forum, but I suppose this is the speciality I want to direct my post at. Im a medical student from Ireland and I was just hoping if anyone could give me some light on my situation.

Right, Ive just finished my first year of medicine, but for the most part of it I found myself to be very unhappy. I ended up loving anatomy when we were doing it, I loved physiology once I understood it, hated biochemistry, and struggled slightly with the clinical aspect of medicine. Looking back on first year, I think Im way more interested in the science behind medicine (especially physiology), than the clinical aspect of it.

I ‘thought’ I was unhappy in my course for a few reasons;
I struggled to adapt to college life. I became overwhelmed by the huge amount we had to study and the number of hours spent in the library every evening. I was intimidated by the other students who were somewhat ‘superior’ to me. I just felt, bored really, completely dismayed. I dont have the same passion or drive for medicine as everyone else has. They live and breath medicine, its all they talk about. I also struggled to manage my time, so I didnt really stay dedicated to clubs and societies as I would have liked.

I was certain for months I was going to change course to Mathematics. Maths was the one thing in secondary school I had a passion and flair for, I would spend hours working on problems and wouldnt give up until I found a solution. I even looked forward to the exams haha! Everyone more or less told me I should study maths than medicine. I had doubts myself. I suppose my mind was going for medicine and my heart for maths.