What credentials did you have to get into Optometry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mtrlOATgal

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this is the forum for OD students
I would like to get some advice from all of you because I am so lost at the moment and this is driving me nuts- not being able to sleep well. as you can see its 4AM now.....

I am in my last year in a health science undergrad and my CGPA is 3.25, but the pre req average should be around 80%, I have two science undergrads- one in bio that's not too high though 3.0 I think and psychology is 3.50.

I will be writing the OAT once in August hopefully and another in November depending on my marks.

I have a lot of community involvement and leadership roles in committees.

I would really appreciate it if you wrote about your own info so that I have a good idea on what I should focus on this year. After I graduate, I will use that year to prepare myself to get into Optometry so PLEASE give me advice.

Should I do a master in vision science or work as an optometrist assistant or work as a research assistant in a vision related lab? What should I do to increase my chances of getting in? I am so lost here.

Please share your stories with us or give me suggestions on how I can improve.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

A pulse, patent airway and checkbook is all that is needed. Trust me.

I know this is the forum for OD students
I would like to get some advice from all of you because I am so lost at the moment and this is driving me nuts- not being able to sleep well. as you can see its 4AM now.....

I am in my last year in a health science undergrad and my CGPA is 3.25, but the pre req average should be around 80%, I have two science undergrads- one in bio that's not too high though 3.0 I think and psychology is 3.50.