What did you major in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sportsplayer24

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im currently undeclared, and don't know what to switch into. I heard its better to do something other then science, but I dont know if thats true, any tips?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know if that is true or not. I majored in biology soley because I was interested in it.

Members don't see this ad :)
Im currently undeclared, and don't know what to switch into. I heard its better to do something other then science, but I dont know if thats true, any tips?

Major in whatever you want. You'll be doing science all through dental school, so you might as well take this chance to explore other interests. As long as you take the pre-reqs and maybe some of the recommended upper-level stuff, you'll be fine.

I actually think there were stats somewhere that said that other majors (buisness/social science/engineering, etc) had higher acceptance rates than your standard core science majors, but I can't find the link now.

Oh, I'm majoring in Psychology. I may add a minor in Political Science or History also.

English Literature/Creative Writing and Natural Science. :cool:

I am a piano performance major. Yes, I am pleased that I chose to study something I actually enjoyed, but let me tell you this: I have taken loads of extra upper division science classes to complement the music, not just pre-reqs but more stuff too. Baylor won't interview me and I'm a Texas resident, because "I don't have enough upper division science." Houston interviewed but then suggested I take moer science.

Now, if I had to do it over again I would take science, because apparently to some schools pre-reqs and """""highly recommended""""" courses are one and the same. Which I think is a load of crap.

best choice for ME: Biology

best choice for an acceptance to dental school: ANYTHING CREATIVE.