What do I do now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SomedayClinPhD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've applied 3 times to PhD programs, gotten an MA in General Psychology (graduated with a 3.91 too, lot of good that did :)) and now don't really know what to do with my life. I've always wanted to be a faculty member, but I'm getting to the point where it's becoming more and more apparent that the PhD isn't going to happen and it's becoming more and more of a burden on my family and support network to keep trying and not find some way to have a decently paying career (currently I work as a researcher for a little bit of money but not nearly enough to start a family with).

I really want to use my degree somehow, not just have it be a worthless piece of paper, but I don't really know what career options that aren't making no money are available to me. Any ideas?

Members don't see this ad.

There are some administrative positions at universities that require a Master's degree (in almost any discipline). These tend to pay well but are quite competitive. It may be something to look into.

You can often teach at community colleges (and some universities--albeit typically as an adjunct/instructor) with a master's degree.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm sorry to hear that this has been such a tough process for you. One thing I would consider doing if you haven't already is to go over your application with a faculty member in your master's program or ask for feedback from the PhD programs you applied to. Some are willing to give feedback as to why they didn't choose you, and you could make modifications if something is standing out as holding you back and you would like to apply again.