What do I need to add to my resume?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YoungD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a Penn State Pre-Med student about to start my major in Philosophy. I am going into Junior year and currently have a GPA of 3.56 after taking all the pre-reqs for med school except Orgo lab, Physics II, and BioChemistry. Hopefully at the end of Junior Year I will have a GPA at about 3.7. I worked over 300 hours in a Plant Biology lab as a lab assistant and will have over 75 hours of shadowing of various physicians at a major trauma hospital. I wanted to work as a scribe but I don't think it will work in my schedule and wanted to know what I can add to my application to ensure I get into a decent medical school. My first MCAT practice test I got a 500, so I am confident after studying I can get a pretty good score. I wanted to get into clinical research, but this is still a process and isn't showing any optimism as of right now. I want to make my junior year as beneficial to my applicaiton as possible, so I was wondering what should I focus on during the school year. What else should I do in my Junior year to prepare for applying to medical schools, should I volunteer more, tutor, go on Atlantis trip in the summer???

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
What are your numbers for nonclinical and clinical volunteering? If you have <150 of each, I would work on those. Do well on your remaining classes. Study hard for the MCAT. Good Luck!

What are your numbers for nonclinical and clinical volunteering? If you have <150 of each, I would work on those. Do well on your remaining classes. Study hard for the MCAT. Good Luck!