What do med schools want?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whitestripes

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I considered myself a strong applicant: go to a good UC, 3.72 GPA cum, 3.72 BPCM, 38 MCAT. I've got good research experience, doctor shadowing, leadership positions. I applied to over 30 schools, and was complete at most of them in early September.

I'm a CA resident, so I applied to all the UCs. I got rejected pre-secondary by UCSF--how do they screen primaries? I thought it was only numbers, but apparently not. (They don't want my money?!)

Got rejected post secondary from UCI.
On hold for interview at UCSD.
On hold for interview at George Washington.
Rejected: Georgetown, BU, U Chicago.

Have had 3 interviews at SLU (waitlist), Case Western (hold), Drexel (haven't heard yet), and have an interview soon at Albany.

I thought that maybe I had a bad letter of rec or something, but one of the interviewers was surprised when I told them about my luck with CA schools, before she told me that all my letters were good and my app was strong. All this, and no acceptances.

Don't call me a troll. This is legitimate. I've read some ridiculous things on here, like "If you have a 37-43 MCAT, just stroll into your school of choice and start paying tuition." I don't know where you are getting that from. I think it is far from that, and you are over simplifying. Because really, GPA/MCAT, IMHO, don't mean that much.

I don't know what it takes to get into medical school. Research, shadowing, and volunteering, should be listed next to biology, physics, and chemistry on pre-reqs for medical school, because that's what they are. I feel like I need to have cured cancer or saved a village in South America to get accepted. I feel like I worked so hard the last few years, and for nothing yet. I hope this application season really does go into March, because I have not heard from over 20 schools.