What do pre-meds major in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yeahman67

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, i am a high school student looking for guidance to becoming a doctor. I wanted to know what do most pre-meds major in and when you apply to a medical school, and what kind of college grades you need to get into medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
these days the best majors are african history, music, and western philosophy. its nice to have straight As as well

this topic has been argues to the death. it basically comes to anything you want. just forum search this topic

Members don't see this ad :)
So, basically, all you need to do is fulfill the pre-med requirement and you're good?

So, basically, all you need to do is fulfill the pre-med requirement and you're good?

This is true. There is no required major, but medical schools have pre-reqs for admission.

You need to do as well as you can in your classes to keep your GPA up.

The basics are:
Take the pre-reqs
Accumulate a strong GPA
Score well on the MCAT
Get clinical experience
Be involved with volunteering and other extra curricular activities.

Depending in which schools you're interested in, research experience will also be a factor to a greater or lesser extent.

i always thought a bio major would be ideal, b/c you get to do all the prereqs, and also take upper division bio work which i think will be good preperation for med school. i took a minor in politics, just to have a broad scope of coursework. but like everyone says, all that matters is you have to do the prereqs, so you could take a humanities major and bio minor for example.
just make sure you focus on getting good grades.