What DO Schools are more friendly to late applicants?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scienceolympian

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know it's very late in the cycle, but my first MCAT was a 498 and I'm retaking it in August to raise it. My practice scores now are at about 503, and I'm shooting for a 505. I understand these schools having rolling admissions, but I wanted to see which schools would be more friendly to a September applicant. I have a cgpa of 3.52 and a sgpa of 3.4. I'm a microbiology major with a stats and chem minor. I have 2 leadership positions in ECs, have done neuro research for the past 2 years, have over 200 hours of clinical volunteering and 150 shadowing hours. I'm a PA resident, so I'm definitely looking to apply to PCOM and LECOM. Besides those, I"m looking to apply to VCOM, NYITCOM, WVSOM , PNWU-COM, and UNE COM. Are there any schools on this list I should avoid or any I should add?

Also, side note I've shadowed a DO, but she was very reluctant to write a rec letter. Apparently, she refuses to write them for anyone and she was the only DO who I reached out to that allowed me to shadow them. I have a rec letter from an MD, how badly will this hurt my app?

Members don't see this ad.

For DO schools, as long as you have everything in by Thanksgiving you should be fine, so its not "very late"

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
a letter from an MD is fine- that's where my LOR is from and I'm mostly applying DO. I think there are a FEW schools that request a letter specifically from a DO, but I can't think of them off the top of my head.

Reactions: 1 user
In my experience none of them are "friendly" to late applicants, because all of them operate rolling admissions.

Do note that the "late" line for DO is different than MD.