What do you all think?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Arc22

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, just thought I'd get opinions. I am a Spanish major, Biochem minor. I'm a Hispanic-American (US Citizen). I studied abroad, have many volunteer experiences, was 1/10 to win the AAMC video contest, and received some great recommendation letters to name a few things.

My overall and science GPA are about 3.9. I have gotten A's in all of my sciences, except an A- in Organic I. I took the MCAT two times and did about the same--28Q and 29Q (30 overall if you take best sections).

I personally feel my application looks great minus the MCAT scores....how does it look from the outside?

Members don't see this ad.

Oh and I also switched to premed my junior year and took Gen Chem, Bio, and Physics all at once and then Organic during the summer right before my MCAT. I'm hoping committees will see my ability to handle a lot at once and my work ethic....just wanted to add that in there. Thanks!

Maybe you could be more specific about your clinical experience (months and Hours), shadowing (hours and types of doc), research (if any), leadership, nonmedical community service, teaching, hobbies, etc. Your numbers look OK, but interviews are offered on the basis or experiences.

What is your home state?

Members don't see this ad :)
For sure, here are some of my experiences:

-Refugee mentor (1 yr)
-ESL teacher for a ESL class I started (summer)
-emergency department volunteer (1 yr)
-played ACHA DIII club hockey (1 yr)
-Special-Olympics chaperon (two times)
-Freshman orientation leader one year (about 2 months)
-I've worked in my college's admissions office in different positions, primarily leadership roles, since sophomore year
-Spanish tutor (two years)
-Service trip to Honduras (1 week)
-Spent time on academic trips to Honduras (4 months) and Costa Rica (1 month)