What do you people think?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

derm83

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long story short, I'm a med student from oversees and I've always wanted to becaome a surgeon. The problem is taht I herniated a lumbar disc 3 years ago and I get bad sciatica when i'm standing in the same posture.

So, I though I should be realistic and choose a non-surgical speciality. I did 2 Internal medicine electives in the states, but I didn't like it and I don't want to be an internist.

I'm thinking now about Rads but I'm not sure if it's worth it to spend 2-3 years doing research in the states to become a competitive applicant. Needless to say, IR isn't an option since the last thing I need is to wear that heavy gown for hours.

I shadowed a plastic surgeon for one week. He was operating sitting all the time as he was doing mostly skin lesions and tissue expansions. Im sure plastics isn't that simple. Any idea wheather I can tolerate plastics given my sciatica?

Any idea about Dermatosurgery? I'm sure this Dermatology fellowship exists in some countries but actually have no idea about their scope of work.

I'd really appreciate any input since this has become my worst nightmare lately.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: