Quantcast

What do you think my chances are?...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nucleophile

MCAT Worrier
10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
So I know there are dozens of other posts asking this same question, but I thought I'd ask it once again. :)

I'm a senior undergrad in Central Texas, 2.9 GPA (will be 3.1 by the middle of the summer), double majoring in Chemistry & Cell Biology, president of the ACS Student Affiliate chapter for 2 consecutive years (American Chemical Society), worked on chemical research for the past year and a half, and also work part time in the microbiology laboratory at the local hospital. Took the MCAT May 10th, hoping to get at least a 30, and am signed up to take it again in July if not.

Please let me know what you think my chances are and maybe what schools I would have a decent chance of getting into. I'd love to go back home to CA or maybe somewhere nearer than TX, but anything you guys think just let me know.

Thanks!!!!:D

SW

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'd say you have little to no shot at an MD school. It's hard to evaluate your chances without an MCAT score. Good luck.

MilkmanAl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Regardless of your MCAT score, you're going to get crapped on by MD schools. It really sucks that you're a CA resident, too. Aim for at least the mid 30's or you're not going to have much of a prayer unless you're a URM or disadvantaged. DO schools would be a good option if you pull out a good MCAT score.

baller2011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How is everyone doing? I hope everyone's application process is going well.

I was wondering my chances.
Major: Political Science.

Overall GPA: 3.75
Science GPA: 3.78

MCAT: Verbal: 11
Physics: 11
Biology: 12

EC

1.) Worked for and raised money for my Congressman for 4 years.