What does it take to land a psychiatry residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CTR

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year DO student interested in psychiatry. My COMLEX-1 score is above average, and class rank is in the upper 25%. I'm not taking the USMLE, but I plan on applying to several MD programs as there aren't that many DO programs. I will be taking a psychiatry elective rotation early in 4th year to make sure it's something I want to do for a living, and hopefully to get a strong letter of recommendation, but other than that my experience with psychiatry is mostly limited to my core 3rd year rotation.

Based on this information, what are my chances of being able to specialize in psychiatry? I don't need to attend a very prestigious program; I just want to go somewhere that will train me well, and I imagine that any program should be able to do that. I also understand that some programs require the USMLE, so naturally I won't be applying to those ones, but for those that accept the COMLEX, how strong would you say my application is? And, in addition to what I have provided here, what else goes into making a strong applicant?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'd start by just making a list of those programs that accept the comlex without the USMLE. Somehow I'd suspect there's not a huge number. But I may be wrong.

I am confident that you will be able to get into an ACGME psych program. Psych has had a small uptick in competitiveness compared to a few years ago, but it's not like we're talking about derm here. You will be fine as long as you apply to enough programs and go to enough interviews.

My advice would be to decide right now if one of the DO psych programs is likely to be one of your, say, top 3 choices. If so, sure, apply to the AOA match hoping that you'll match there and if not then you still have a chance in the ACGME match.