What else can I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SarahBellum1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm currently a junior in college, neuroscience major, and I hope to attend a TX med school (as I am a TX resident). I think my top choice/my best bet is UTHSC in San Antonio, where I've been told that they look more beyond your grades compared to most other schools.

I'm pretty worried about being accepted, and rightfully so. As of right now, I know my GPA is not at a competitive level whatsoever. My current cGPA is about 3.16 (not good) and my sGPA is 3.03 (even worse). However, my cGPA is graded on the +/- system (where I've learned med school takes away the +'s and -'s?) and does not include 7 hours of all A's from summer school nor 16 hours of (probably) all A's from a semester studying abroad. After taking all of these into consideration, I hope to have around a 3.4 cGPA before my senior year. I will be taking the MCAT this coming spring, so you might not have much to offer on what my chances are of getting in without a score...But what do you think would be the minimum score on the MCAT that would make up for my lack in GPA? (Assuming that I can even make up for it at all...)

ECs:
-very active in my church back home: I help lead junior high and high school retreats several times a year. volunteer at vacation bible school. help with church summer programs for young kids. food drives, serve food to homeless, etc. (200+ hours)
-have been on my university's varsity tennis team since freshman year
-have been greatly involved with a christian youth group on campus since freshman year
-I've played violin and piano for about 12 years
-a member of AMSA
-member of neuroscience club
-volunteer with Best Buddies
-minimal hospital volunteering (<10 hrs so far, but that should change)
-have observed several surgeries
-minimal shadowing (making rounds at hospital w/an internist, ~10 hrs)