What exactly is SUMMER RESEARCH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ezekiel20

Resident
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear all

I am a 2nd yr med student from Sydney, Australia.

In my course, honours are awarded by completion of a project (ideally resulting in a publication) rather than exam results (we have a pass/fail system so there is no ranking).

The projects are supposed to take 10-12 weeks to complete.

However I am a bit confused as to how someone can do research for 10-12 weeks and come up with something worthy of being published in a peer-reviewed journal.

It also seems like a massive step from learning the basic physiology/pathology etc, to discovering new stuff that gets read by experts in their respective fields..

On this forum I've seen a number of posts that talk about 'summer research' that resulted in publications. I have a feeling that the level of research required for honours at my university may be similar to that of the summer research projects I hear about (given the time frame etc)..

Could you please give me some idea of how you went about your research, what it involved, and how much time it took?

Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

You have to get pretty lucky to get a publication from a summer research project. Many students continue to do research during class to extend their project and accomplish something worthwhile.