what field gives me the least amount of verbal interaction with patients?

YoungProdigy

7+ Year Member
Feb 17, 2012
Status
my work has shown me that I'm not really a people person (something I knew before, but this reaffirmed it), and while I'm 100% invested in medicine, what are some options for someone who doesn't really want any VERBAL interaction with patients? I'm a little more tech oriented, so if there's something there, lmk please.

and please, no snarky comments about how I should reconsider my life choices blah blah blah.

gonnif

Only 389 Days Until Next Presidential Election
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Jul 26, 2009
The Big Bad Apple
Status
Non-Student
pathology

mimelim

Vascular Surgery
7+ Year Member
Sep 19, 2011
Status
Attending Physician
my work has shown me that I'm not really a people person (something I knew before, but this reaffirmed it), and while I'm 100% invested in medicine, what are some options for someone who doesn't really want any VERBAL interaction with patients? I'm a little more tech oriented, so if there's something there, lmk please.

and please, no snarky comments about how I should reconsider my life choices blah blah blah.
Why are you '100% invested in medicine' when you don't want personal interaction, the cornerstone of most specialties? What exactly do you mean "not really a people person"? You have to deal with a lot of people, even as a pathologist or radiologist. Less so than most other specialties, but you shouldn't go to medical school if you could only be happy in one of a couple of fields. What if you don't enjoy either of those things?

I don't understand how you can be committed to going into medicine if you are asking on a forum about specialties and areas that allow you to not interact with people.

StudyLater

2+ Year Member
Jan 4, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical

Path, rad, anesthesiology, in that order. Rad and anesthesiology can have some decent patient interaction, however.