What got you interested in pharmacy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

btpayne13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a high school student interested in going into some field of medicine (either pharmacy or veterinary medicine most likely). Pharmacy interests me for a number of reasons because it seems that it would offer a very interesting blend of business and science, where you can help people feel better by supplying them with their medication. What got you interested in pharmacy?

Members don't see this ad.

Mine was:

• Interest in patient counseling
  • Interest in organic and biochemistry
  • Willingness to work with the general public
  • 4 years of school after college instead of 7-12 years
  • Enough income to not worry about money
  • Developing relationships with patients that keep coming back
  • Interest in math up to calculus
  • Pharmacy is a small world where almost every pharmacist knows each other, or someone who would know the pharmacist you mention
  • Interest in becoming "The Medication Expert"

Etc.

I thought there was another thread like this somewhere but here are my answers:

-Interest in pharmacology and direct patient care. -Working in a challenging field where I will constantly learn new things
-opportunity to live a comfortable lifestyle
-variety of career options
-normal hours

Members don't see this ad :)
Specifically? The Baycol recall in '04. I remember being facinated that something designed to help people was instead hurting them.