What happens if I keep testing negative for hep b titers? Getting annoyed with these damn vaccines.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ancient_Eldritch

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an entering med student in fall 2016 and am seriously getting annoyed with all these vaccinations and titers. I'm in a very rural community so I have to drive two hrs either way to do any of this, so that makes matters more complicated, but is it just me or is this vaccine/testing handled in pretty much the worst and most annoying way possible?

I mean, for example, I'm doing the 1-week tb requirement, which means I have already done the 48 hr 2 step TB test once, and now I just completed the first step of the second 48 hr 2 step TB test, and have to come in again in 48 hrs so I can satisfy the 1-week requirement. It's pretty ****ing ridiculous that I have to do this every year. Why don't they just give us TB vaccinations, so we don't have to keep doing this over and over again? It just seems so unnecessarily complicated, especially since I'm driving 2 hrs and getting billed for something that should be possible to read by sending the doc a picture.

As for the main issue: I have had the hepatitis B vaccination 3 times when I was a kid and I just had blood my drawn and it turned out I tested negative for the titer. Because of this I have to do the entire hep-b vaccination series again and another titer. This whole process is going to take about 4 months, so what happens if I get a negative titer again?

This is getting so annoying and ridiculous. I really hope it's a lot easier to do this stuff in medical school bc this is getting to be a serious pain in the butt.

Members don't see this ad.

The BCG vaccine is the only vaccine we have against tB, and we don't give it because it sucks. So there is no good TB vaccine, which is why the healthcare field is so particular about TB testing.